2016: A Year in Review

Happy New Year Everybody!!

I hope you all had an amazing break over the Christmas and New Year break and that you have entered 2017 relaxed and excited for what is ahead!

I can barely even comprehend how quickly 2016 flew by and how many changes it brought with it. For me personally, 2016 was what I refer to as my ‘pendulum’ year. It was a year where I went from one extreme to another in the flash of an eye.

I started the year all #fitspo doing the Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide and carried on with that for the 12 week duration and I even did my first ever round of the I Quit Sugar 8 Week program. I loved doing both of these programs and I felt the fittest and happiest I had felt in a long time. When both of these programs finished I had such good intentions to carry on with this new found health regime however, as University work and life piled up I quickly fell back down the rabbit hole of bad eating habits and not working out.

It was April through till the end of the year when my pendulum antics really started. One week I was a yogi, the next I was all about the weights and the next? Hello intuitive eating. I hopped from one way of life to the next be it sugar free, counting macros or throwing caution to the wind and not caring what I ate. What I discovered during this time was that essentially not knowing my raison d’être I was negatively impacting my mental health.

Over the Christmas and New Year break my boyfriend and I spent a lot of time on my family’s ‘farm’ ( I say farm very lightly as it’s essentially a huge lifestyle block with sheep) and it was glorious. It was almost a week of being practically unplugged from the online world; spending much needed time with family and friends, feeding sheep and tending to the vegetable patch. It was over this time that I set my goals for 2017 (my new years resolutions if you will).

Firstly, to live a more holistic life and to explore myself in more depth. I want 2017 to be the year where I finally figure out what it is that makes me tick. Secondly, to stay away from other people’s drama. 2016 brought more friendship drama than I would have cared for and it wasn’t even my own! This year I want to not get caught up in the middle of things that have nothing to do with me. Lastly, I want to place a big focus on my mental health this year. I don’t want to be miserable and depressed any more so my goal is to get help this year so that I can stop playing the victim in my own life story.

If you’ve made it to the end of this post well done you! It’s a bit long winded but also definitely something that I had to get out of my system to move forward.

Here’s to a happy 2017 to you all!

Danielle xx

One thought on “2016: A Year in Review

Leave a Reply

